Dear Refiner's Fire...

It looks to me like there are several covenants in the Bible. Would you mind listing them so I can get them straight in my own mind?

Our Response...

Thank you for your excellent question. The covenants are as follows:

Noah covenant (Genesis 9:8-17): YHWH promises He would never again flood the earth – which was demonstrated by the rainbow!

To make of Abraham a great nation (Genesis 12:1–3): ...and to bless those who bless him and curse those who curse him, and all peoples on earth would be blessed through Abraham.

To give the Land of Israel to Abraham's descendants (Genesis 15:18–21): In other words, all the land from the river of Egypt to the Euphrates. Later, this land came to be referred to as the Promised Land or simply, "the Land." The land specified by the Abrahamic covenant also included the modern nations of Saudi Arabia, Oman, Yemen, Turkey, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, and several other nations in the Middle East.

To make Abraham the father of many nations (Genesis 17:2–9): ...and of many descendants, and give "the whole land of Canaan" to his descendants.

Circumcision (Genesis 17:9–14): Circumcision was to be the permanent sign of this everlasting covenant with Abraham and his male descendants and is known as the brit milah. We learn in scriptures such as Exodus 12:48-50, Numbers 15:13-16 and 1 Corinthians 7:18-19 that all who accept YHWH must do as "His" people do - which means that Gentile men who accept Him as their God must also be circumcised.

The covenants with Moshe/Moses: The Mosaic covenant, beginning in Exodus 19-24, contains the foundations of the written Torah and the Oral Torah. In this covenant, God promises to make the Israelites his treasured possession among all people (Exodus 19:5) and "a kingdom of priests and a holy nation" (Exodus 19:6), if they follow God's commandments. As part of the terms of this covenant, God gives Moses the Ten Commandments. These were later elaborated upon in the rest of the Torah.

The priestly covenant (Hebrew: brith ha-kehuna) (Exodus 19, Exodus 28:1 and Exodus 29:9) is the covenant that God made with Aaron and his descendants, the Aaronic priesthood, as found in both the Tanach (Old Testament) and Oral Torah (Talmud).

The Davidic Covenant (2 Samuel 7; Jeremiah 33:17-21) establishes David and his descendants as the kings of the united monarchy of Israel (which included Judah).

The New Covenant (Jeremiah 31:31-33; Hebrews 8:10-13) is a continuation of the "Old Covenant" wherein YHWH laid down some Divine Instructions for His people to live by - but where animal sin sacrifices would no longer be required because His promised Divine Messiah (Y'shua, who was foreshadowed in all of God's Appointed Times) would become our Reedemer ...